UP, Letran lead 17-team Filoil pre-season tournament

Filoil Pre-Season Cup. INQUIRER FILE

MANILA, Philippines — UAAP and NCAA squads are set to collide in the return of the Filoil EcoOil Preseason Cup on July 23 at San Juan Arena.

University of the Philippines, the reigning UAAP Season 84 champion, and NCAA titleholder Letran lead the 17-team field — seven from UAAP and all 10 NCAA schools — in the preseason tournament’s comeback from three-year inactivity.

PeraPley.Net - Filipino Play to Earn!

UAAP runner-up Ateneo will miss the tournament due to its training camp and pocket tournament in Japan.

“We’re elated to host the UAAP and NCAA teams for the return of the Filoil EcoOil Preseason Cup. We’re pumped to see competitive games from all the participating schools as we celebrate our 15th staging of the tournament,” said chairman Rey Gamboa, who is joined by lead commissioner Joe Lipa, deputy commissioner Bert dela Rosa, tournament director Joey Guillermo, and consultant and media head Virgil Villavicencio in supervising the tilt.